Monday, October 27, 2014

List of Best Twitter Chats for Bloggers


List of Best Twitter Chats for Bloggers

Hello dear readers! Ever since fellow Boston blogger Natalie (@NatalesM) and I launched the #USBloggerChat (every Thursday at 8pm EST) - now hosted by the lovely @color_u_bold, @xWenchQueen, @gotmeghan, @NatalesM, and @cheetahtalkymas, people have been asking for a full list of twitter chats for bloggers. 

Twitter chats are a great way to engage with, socialize and learn from fellow bloggers. It can even be a source of inspiration, such as my recent blog design upgrade by @pipdig.

As part of my Blogger Tips series, I thought it would make a nice blog post to have all the twitter chats in one place so here it is! I've arranged them in chronological order according to days of the week and in eastern standard time. Let me know if I've missed any!

List of Best Twitter Chats for Bloggers

Monday

#bdib (used to be #bloggersdoitbetter)
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
General blogger chat
Host: @blogdoitbetter

#bundlechat 
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
General blogger chat

#fbloggers
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Fashion blogger chat  (UK)
Host: @BeckyBedbug


#happyselves 
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Positive chat - 1st Monday of every month
Host: @QueenBeady 

#FoodieChats
8-9:30pm EST / 5-6:30pm PST / 1-2:30am GMT
Food & dining chat
Hosts: @SteveGoGreen & @FoodieChats

#BlogTrends
9-10pm EST / 6-7pm PST / 2-3am GMT
Fashion - Blog giveaways, gift guides, and sponsored posts
Host: @BlogTrends

Tuesday

#Beautyinthebag
1-1:30pm EST/ 10-10:30am PST / 6-6:30pm GMT
Beauty Chat
Host: @BeautyintheBag

#FashionUnfold (2nd Tuesday of the month
1-2pm EST / 10-11am PST / 6-7pm GMT
Thought-provoking debates on blogging and the fashion industry. Past topics include: elitism in fashion, celebrity fashion lines, and the end of fashion blogging. Expect some disagreement for your opinions, and remember to respond politely and tactfully.
Host: @FashionUnfold

#AskABlogger
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT

#BookBloggers
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
For book bloggers
Host: @UKBlogAwards

#fblchat
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Fashion blogger chat (UK)
Host: @fashbeautylife

#bloghour
4-5pm EST / 1-2pm PST / 9-10pm GMT
Fashion blogger chat (UK)
Host: @UKblogawards

#ChicChat
9-10pm EST / 6-7pm PST / 2-3am GMT
Host: PopCosmo

Wednesday

#altchat
12-1pm EST / 9am-10pm PST / 5-6pm GMT
Chat for bloggers & brands
Host: @altsummit

#lbloggers
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
Lifestyle blogger chat
Host: @lbloggers

#StyleChat
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
A discussion on current fashion and beauty trends. Expect appearances from brands and designers such as Club Monaco, Nicole Miller, Intermix, and Coach. 
Host: @StyleCaster

#bbloggers
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Beauty blogger chat

#blogtacular
4-5pm EST / 1-2pm PST / 9-10pm GMT
General blogger chat
Host: @blogtacular

#bffchat
8-9pm EST / 5-6pm PST / 1-2am GMT
Host: @jessandjill

#FoodTravelChat
8-9pm EST / 5-6pm PST / 1-2am GMT
Food & travel chat
Host: @foodtravelist

#PinChat
9-10pm EST / 6-7pm PST / 2-3am GMT
Pinterest Chat
Host: @pin_chat

Thursday

#crazybloggers
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
Blogger chat
Host: @hollycassell

#vloggerschat
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Video blogger chat

#cbloggers
3:30-4:30pm EST  / 12:30-1:30pm PST / 8:30-9:30pm GMT
Creative blogger chat

#fdbloggers
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
The place for foodies/food bloggers to share recipes & food posts!
Host: @fdbloggers

#fbloggers
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Fashion blogger chat

#blogphotochat
4-5pm EST / 1-2pm PST / 9-10pm GMT
Fashion blogger chat

#USBloggerChat 
8-9pm EST / 5-6pm PST / 1-2am GMT
General blogger chat, blogger tips & tricks, topic-based every week
Hosts: @color_u_bold, @xWenchQueen, @gotmeghan, @NatalesM, and @cheetahtalkymas (and sometimes yours truly, @ChowDownUSA)

#blisschat
9-10pm EST / 6-7pm PST / 2-3am GMT
Great general blogger chat on improving your blog with examples
Host: @mscharissamoore 

Friday

#fblchat
11am-12pm EST / 8-11am PST / 4-5pm GMT
Fashion, beauty, lifestyle chat
Host: @fashbeautylife

#gbloggers
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
Gorgeous bloggers chat
Host: @VixMeldrew

#beautychat
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
Beauty blogger chat
Host: @BeautyHigh 

#bdib
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Host: @blogsdoitbetter
Fashion - Topic  

#mblogchat
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Mom blogger chat
Host: @mummy_bloggers 

Saturday

#sitsblogging
10-11am EST / 7-8am PST / 3-4pm GMT
General blogger chat
Host: @SITSGirls 

#socialbloggers
1-2pm EST / 10-11am PST / 6-7pm GMT
Fashion

Sunday

#PABchat
12-1pm EST / 9-10pm PST / 5-6pm GMT
Pick a blogger/general blogger chat
Host: @pabchat

#lbloggers
2-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST / 7-8pm GMT
Lifestyle bloggers chat
Host: @lbloggers

#blogchat
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Host: @blogchatnews

#foodbloggers
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT

#bbloggers
3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST / 8-9pm GMT
Beauty bloggers chat

#pbloggers
4-5pm EST / 1-2pm PST / 9-10pm GMT
Plus size bloggers chat

Since I'm clearly all about food and fashion, those are usually my go-to chats. I hope you find this chat database helpful, and be sure to let me know if I missed any! 

Be sure to check out my tips on growing your blog through Twitter and easy SEO tricks for bloggers!

Comment Challenge: Do you ever engage in Twitter chats? Why or why not?

Get more blogging tips & inspiration! Follow along on:

Share:

Friday, October 24, 2014

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Can you believe it's already late October? Summer seemed to go by in a wink, and now that fall is here, it's time to start getting together Halloween costumes!

Flapper Girl

Someone said something to me the other day that absolutely blew my mind: In a few short years, it will be the 20's again! As in, the 2020's. This makes me think of the style and glamour of the 1920's - the Great Gatsby parties, prohibition, and of course flapper girl dresses! I've always wanted to dress up as a flapper girl for Halloween, and haven't quite gotten around to it yet.

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Britney Spears

Because everyone loves a good Britney costume - straight from her first single, this schoolgirl outfit is so fun! Don't forget the pink scrunchies! 

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Maleficent

Let's be honest, Angelina brought back Sleeping Beauty this summer with Maleficent's side of the story. She's one of the costumes I expect to see a lot of this year. My roommates and I are going as Disney villans, and I chose Maleficent since I love the story of Sleeping beauty!

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Ariel

Who hasn't wanted to be Ariel at one point or another? She's a mermaid! She can swim all she wants, and has gorgeous flowing hair. Yes please.

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Marie Antoinette

From the big dresses to the big hair, there's just something fun about the extravagance of women's fashion during the French Revolution. The style is so romantic and feminine. 

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Cleopatra

After watching The Mummy Returns on tv yesterday, I have a newfound need to dress in everything that is Ancient Egypt - the snakes, the gold, the cats! Cleopatra was a strong woman figure before it was cool. 

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Princess Anna

As a Disney lover, I have to include a Frozen outfit in my Halloween post! I enjoyed Princess Anna's character much more than Elsa's - Anna was fun, quirky and relatable. 

Best Halloween Costume Ideas 2014

Hope you enjoyed my Halloween inspiration for 2014!

Comment Challenge: I'm going as Maleficent & Britney this year. What will your Halloween costume be for 2014?

Share:

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Furla Grand Opening: A Boston Blogger Event

Furla Boston Blogger Event

Last week, I was lucky enough to be invited to Furla's Grand Opening in Boston's Copley Place Mall. Founded in 1927, Furla is an upscale handbag, shoe and accessory company out of Bologna, Italy. 

I love the bright colors Furla uses in their handbags, accessories, and even winter rain boots shown above! They offer neutral colors as well, but the bright colors are what really strike me. 

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

Fellow Boston blogger Georgina and I enjoying our St. Elder champagne. I'm clearly obsessed with statement necklaces at the moment!

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

I loved these fun furry keychains!

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

Furla Grand Opening Boston Blogger Event

Furla's grand opening was so fun - they had a DJ, champagne, and delicious hors d'oeuvres to keep us entertained. As for the products themselves, you could really tell that each bag and shoe is an investment piece made with the highest quality. I was so tempted to get one, but I tend to go more for the Target bags that I go through in a season or two!

Comment Challenge: Do you go for investment pieces in your handbags, or do you prefer the less pricey bags? 

Share:

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Rocksbox Review: The Sequel


Rocksbox Review Fall 2014

Just in time for fall, my second RocksBox shipment arrived for review! It's always so exciting to open up these boxes, imagining the treasures that lay inside. Here are the goodies I get to rock this month.


Rocksbox Review Fall 2014

RocksBox Review Fall 2014

My first item is this classic Victoria Necklace by Urban Gem ($51). I love how each piece reflects the light and sparkles across the room. 

RocksBox Review Fall 2014

As seen in my Newest Fall Jacket post, this glam necklace definitely polishes and classes up any outfit while still looking appropriate for fall! 

RocksBox Review Fall 2014

A girl can never have too many cuffs in her arm party. My second item was this adorable Double Arrow Gold Cuff from Waderlust + Co ($28). It's a bit big on me, as most cuffs are, but pairing it with other cuffs allows me to put it higher up on my arm where it sits snugly! 

RocksBox Review Fall 2014

Last, but not least, we have these chic and subtle Chloe Large Gold Studs by Gorjana ($36). As someone with sensitive ears, I can only wear sterling silver or gold earrings, so these have bonus points right off the bat for being made of gold. 

RocksBox Review Fall 2014

I love their subtle look, which makes them so versatile. I could wear these to work, a date night, or just brunch with friends. 

RocksBox Review Fall 2014

I especially loved how shiny and reflective these studs were! In this picture they look like they're glowing red because they're reflecting my red shirt.

RocksBox is honestly just fun because it's like a mini-Christmas gift opening every time your package arrives. I think this was my favorite shipment so far.

Comment Challenge: What's your go-to piece of jewelry for fall?


*This is a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.
Share:

Friday, October 17, 2014

Best Fall Jacket from Target 2014!

Best Fall Jacket Target 2014

As Boston's weather continues to sway between summer and fall temperatures, I decided to get myself a stylish and versatile jacket that I could wear any day. Of course, this meant venturing to Target!

Best Fall Jacket Target 2014

I picked up this sweater jacket and instantly fell it love. It somehow manages to keep me warm on the cooler days while not suffocating me on the warmer days. I added the belt myself since this was a cooler day and I wanted it to stay put.

The striped pattern and unique cut of the jacket is so interesting and can spice up any outfit. I can wear it with some cute fall jeans, a dress, or just lounging at home in pjs! It also goes with just about any solid colors since it's black and white. 

Best Fall Jacket Target 2014

I seriously love how comfortable it is, while still being stylish and absolutely perfect for fall!

Comment Challenge: I love shopping for fall jackets! What's your go-to item for fall?

Share:

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Best Jeans for Women in the Fall

Fall is officially in the air, and so are fall trends! I love seeing and wearing the best of this season's styles; from plaid, to booties, and giant scarfs. 

But what about the loyal, classic pair of jeans? I've always been a proponent of this fashion staple at any time of year. Allow me to show off my favorite takes on jeans for women!


Jeans for Women in the Fall

The Skinny Jean

SHERI SKINNY IN PREMIUM LIGHTWEIGHT DENIM

As a petite blogger, I've always appreciated the skinny jean. While they have a reputation for being a slimming jean, they hug your curves and can even give you added curves! They're never baggy and can go with everything from heels, to boots, to flats. Love it!

The Trouser Jean

SABELLA TROUSER IN PREMIUM LIGHTWEIGHT DENIM - EXTRA LONG

Trouser jeans are a great alternative to the skinny jean. Their high waist and wide bottoms make for a more vintage look, and work great with the giant coats and jackets you need in the cooler fall months.

The Wide Leg Jean

BILLIE MINI BOOTCUT

Wide leg, or boot cut jeans are kind of like the goldilocks of jeans. They're not as skinny as skinny jeans, but they're skinnier at the bottom than trousers so that they can more easily fit into your fall boots. It's the best of both worlds. You don't have to wear boots with them either - I wear them with heels like in the above picture. 

The Short Jean

HAYDEN STRAIGHT LEG IN PREMIUM LIGHTWEIGHT DENIM – SHORT LENGTH

Another cut I love as a petite blogger is the short jean. Sometimes for those at my height, a regular jean cut will result in bunching at the ankles because the jeans are longer than your legs. Short cuts are perfect because they tend to be in better proportion to a shorter frame. 

The same goes for taller body types and tall jeans for women. If you haven't tried these and you're a taller or shorter woman, I highly recommend it!

If you aren't sure where to find some of these cuts, NYDJ is a great place to start. They have every cut of jeans imaginable and their website is super easy to navigate. 

So there you have it - my picks for the best jeans for women in the fall! What's your favorite jean style?

*This is a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.
Share:

Monday, October 13, 2014

Easy Fall Recipe: Blueberry Apple Crisp

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Hello dear readers! So now that fall is in full swing, fun autumn activities are popping up. We recently attended a fall potluck here in Boston, and had to bring our A-game with a delicious recipe. 

Easy Fall Recipe: Blueberry Apple Crisp

As many of you know, I tend to write more about dining out  and fashion than recipes, but I just had to share this Blueberry Apple Crisp recipe because it was so easy & delicious!

Note: The original recipe can be found here, but we altered it to make it quite a bit more healthy (less butter, flour, sugar, etc.), while keeping the great sweet flavor!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Ingredients Needed for Filling:

5 apples
1 smaller box of blueberries
1/2 cup brown sugar 
1 tablespoon cinnamon

Ingredients Needed for Crust:

1 cup flour
1 1/2 cups rolled oats (not instant)
1/2 cup cold butter
1 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

First, let's preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Next, we want to rinse, de-core and chop up 5 fresh fall apples into big slices. You can peel the apples, but it's not necessary.

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Next, put the chopped apples, rinsed blueberries, cinnamon and brown sugar in a large mixing bowl and mix until the ingredients are evenly distributed.

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Empty contents into a 9 x 13 baking pan. The key here is to make sure everything is still evenly distributed! You don't want all the blueberries in one corner and all the apples in another. 

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Combine the crust ingredients and beat until the mix is small and crumbly. If you're using a mixer, it will take about 3-5 minutes. 

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Pour the crust over the fruits, and pop in the oven for 35-45 minutes.

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Finished product! The filling should be bubbling and the crust should be browning when it's done.

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

This dessert was a hit at the potluck! It's such an easy dish, and comes out so amazing. The blueberries give it a great tart flavor as well as a pretty purple color that's perfect for fall.

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Potluck decorations!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Someone brought Smore's cookies - yum!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

We also made pulled pork sliders for the potluck, but that's for another blog post!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Pumpkin bread!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Our apple crisp makes it's debut!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Homemade apple pie!

Easy fall recipe blueberry apple crisp

Potlucks are great because everyone brings their best dishes, and you get to share them all! 

Comment Challenge: What's your go-to recipe for fall?

Share:

Friday, October 10, 2014

Best Boston Brunch Crepes at Neighborhoods Coffee & Crepes


Best Boston Crepes Neighborhoods Coffee

I clearly am obsessed with brunch, and am constantly looking for the best brunch spots wherever I am. Exciting news on this front: I may have found the cutest spot for the best Boston brunch crepes. Neighborhoods Cafe is nestled in the heart of the Fenway/Kenmore area (where I just discovered they are building a new City Target store, eta 2015)!

Best Boston Brunch Crepes at Neighborhoods Coffee

I ordered the savory Tuscan Chicken, with Mozzarella, free-range chicken, arugula, and tomato drizzled with pesto. It came with generous portions and incredibly fresh ingredients. The wait staff were prompt and friendly, and the decorations were adorable - see the cute wallpaper behind me? Love it!

Best Boston Crepes Neighborhoods Coffee

Sneaking a peek at some scrumptious-looking dessert crepes. 

Best Boston Crepes Neighborhoods Coffee

Fellow blogger Natalie ordered the Signature Crepe, which came with arugula, feta, mozzarella, & tomato with balsamic vinaigrette.

I definitely recommend Neighborhoods Cafe if you're on the search for the best Boston brunch crepes. One note I should offer is that they stop preparing anything with eggs at 10am sharp! So if you're craving a savory egg crepe, come early.

Comment Challenge: I love brunch! What's your favorite meal of the day?

Neighborhoods Coffee & Crepes on Urbanspoon
Share:
© Chow Down USA | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Developed by pipdig